The Fungi of Peter’s Woods – a pictorial posting

I have a weakness for the unusual, and even the macabre. So, before passing judgement on anything I happen upon on the trail, I take another look. Sometimes in  a different light, from a different angle, or a different perspective. More often than not, I’ll catch a beauty I’d have missed otherwise.

When perusing my photo albums, I always slow down at the mushrooms as I remember the challenges some of those pictures offered up. The wife carries a mirror with her which we sometimes use for a different light. Macro capabilities are always important in our camera choices, and I’ve even suffered mild injuries getting the perspective and angle desired for the picture (not hard to do when you’re pushing sixty).

So, I wanted to share them with you, but to post them all would’ve eaten every last byte of our allotted space on WordPress. However, thanks to the miracle of wild guessing, shooting in the dark, and trial and error, I discovered that a  .gif (for reasons unknown to me) don’t eat nuthin’ for space.

So, here they are. These are all from Peter’s Woods Provincial Nature Reserve, though I have seen many similar examples on many similar trails. They’re taken during all seasons except Winter of course, though the tree bracket type will persist through the Winter.

That’s why I love Peter’s Woods. The plant and fungal varieties are amazing for such a small, well known, and popular trail, and I know of no better trail to experience such diversity. You may recognize some of these as they’re up to six inches across the caps. However, some are just a centimeter or two in diameter and you need an experienced eye to notice as you walk by one hundred and sixty centimeters above them.

And that’s one of the best reasons I can offer as to why you should take your time as you walk a trail.

Bushwhacker

 

2 comments

  1. John Iafrate · · Reply

    Amazing pics! Now I feel like plate of garlic fried champignon de paris…

    Like

  2. That’s to be expected from a chef of your caliber Johnny. Some of these ones don’t taste half bad. But some others … well, no one has survived long enough to tell us.
    Bushwhacker

    Like

Leave a Reply

